Stories for the Homeschool Heart–

Here’s a little story for the homeschool heart:

I found this old photo of my earlier days of homeschooling- shortly after I discovered my own ‘homeschool heart”. I think we were a couple years into it at this point-maybe three- and I asked the photographer who took my daughter’s First Communion picture and our family photo to snap one of us on the front porch to forever document our chosen homeschooling adventure.

I remember a couple things distinctly about the day:

1.One son kept closing his eyes. After many shots like this I told the photographer, “The baby is happy. Just take it. This is real life- the way it was today. I’ll remember.”

2. We grabbed all sorts of school books to scatter around. I didn’t want my toes to show. (I can’t exactly tell you why other than that feet seem very personal to me.)

3. I felt so happy, almost like my heart would burst.

Three kids later I have to say I feel the same way.

That’s what children and homeschooling do to you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stories for the Homeschool Heart–

  1. Lisa Melnick says:

    Love this photo and love the story to go with it. I can feel your joy. I love remembering certain things about a single picture.
    I am LOVING YOUR BOOK!!
    Lisa

  2. Such a beautiful photo! Thanks for sharing it with us!
    Your book is awesome and I love every story in it!
    Tracy at A Slice of Smith Life
    http://www.asliceofsmithlife.blogspot.com

  3. Theresa and Patti!
    I just awarded your HH blog a Versatile Blog Award. See details here:
    http://asliceofsmithlife.blogspot.com/2010/09/thank-you-for-versatile-blogger-award.html

    God bless,
    Tracy at “A Slice of Smith Life”
    http://www.asliceofsmithlife.blogspot.com

  4. Gae says:

    I read this a couple of weeks ago and I thought I left a comment but didn’t
    I love the photo
    It just breathes love of home, children and learning
    Blessings
    Gae

Leave a Reply

